Niels Vande Casteele, PharmD PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine
Affiliate Faculty, Skaggs School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences
University of California San Diego
La Jolla, California USA

Dr. Vande Casteele holds a Bachelor in Pharmaceutical Sciences and Master in Drug Design and Development from the University of Leuven, Belgium. He performed research in the field of Molecular Biology at the Institute of Medical Sciences, University of Aberdeen, Scotland and in the field of Immunology at Sanquin, University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands. He obtained his Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences entitled “Optimizing anti-TNF therapy in inflammatory bowel disease patients, a step towards personalized dosing” at the University of Leuven, Belgium.

Dr. Vande Casteele currently holds an appointment as Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of California San Diego, United States, where he teaches a course on Biologics and Biosimilars Drug Development. Dr. Vande Casteele also holds a position of Director, Precision Medicine at Alimentiv, Inc. where he oversees the Clinical Pharmacology and Translational Research program that focuses on the development, validation and implementation of clinical and translational research tools to ascertain efficient (early) drug development in sponsor- and investigator-initiated studies. His main research efforts focus on clinical pharmacology and translational medicine of small and large molecules used in the treatment of chronic inflammatory diseases, with an emphasis on characterizing pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics in relation to treatment outcomes in clinical practice and drug development.

Dr. Vande Casteele has published over 100 peer reviewed research articles and book chapters, he has given over 30 invited lectures, and he has received awards for his research contributions from distinguished professional organizations such as the European Crohn’s and Colitis Organization (ECCO), the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA), the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation (CCF) and United European Gastroenterology (UEG) association.

Other Faculty Members

Abraham, Bincy P.

Adachi, Jonathan D.

Afif, Waqqas

Ananthakrishnan, Ashwin

Anglin, Rebecca

Armuzzi, Alessandro

Van Assche, Gert

Barbara, Giovanni

Baumgart, Daniel C

Beck, Paul L.

Ben-Horin, Shomron

Benchimol, Eric

Bernard, Edmond-Jean

Bernstein, Charles N.

Bessissow, Talat

Bitton, Alain

Bradette, Marc

Bressler, Brian

Carbonnel, Franck

Cohen, Russell D.

Colombel, Jean-Frédéric

Croitoru, Kenneth

Crowther, Mark

Dieleman, Leo A.

Dubinsky, Marla C.

Feagan, Brian G.

Fedorak, Richard N.

Forbes, Alastair

Fowler, Sharyle

Gasche, Christoph

Ghosh, Subrata

Graff, Lesley

Greenberg, David E.

Gregor, James C.

Griffiths, Anne M.

Gruchy, Steven E.

Guimarães, Luís S.

Haider, Shariq

Halder, Smita LS

Hanauer, Stephen B.

Hart, Ailsa

Hazlewood, Glen S.

Hirschfield, Gideon

Huang, Vivian

Hunt, Richard H.

Iacucci, Marietta

Jairath, Vipul

Jeejeebhoy, Khursheed N.

Jones, Jennifer

Kennedy, Erin

Khanna, Reena

Kroeker, Karen I.

Kumar, Deepali

Lakatos, Peter Laszlo

Leung, Yvette PY.

Lima, Hermênio

Loftus, Edward V. Jr.

Long, Millie D.

Loomes, Dustin

Ma, Christopher

Mahadevan, Uma

Markowitz, James

Marshall, John K.

McCurdy, Jeffrey

Melmed, Gil Y.

Munkholm, Pia

Murthy, Sanjay

Narula, Neeraj

Ng, Siew

Nguyen, Geoffrey C.

Panaccione, Remo

Paré, Pierre

Peerani, Farhad

Plamondon, Sophie

Regueiro, Miguel

Render, Craig

Riddell, Robert

Robert, Magali

Rosenfeld, Greg

Rotstein, Coleman

Sandborn, William J.

Seidman, Ernest G

Seow, Cynthia

Shah, Hemant

Shanahan, Fergus

Sheasgreen, Christopher

Silverberg, Mark S

Singh, Siddharth

Stapleton, Melanie

Steinhart, A. Hillary

Stretton, Jennifer

Sutherland, Lloyd R.

Switzer, Connie M.

Targownik, Laura

Thomson, Alan BR

Travis, Simon PL.

Urton, Todd E.

Vande Casteele, Niels

Vermeire, Séverine

Walsh, Scott

Williams, Chadwick

Wine, Eytan