Alan BR Thomson, MD, MSc, PhD, FRCP(C), FACP, FACG, Professor

Professor Emeritus
Division of Gastroenterology
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB

Dr Thomson is a Professor Emeritus from the University of Alberta and has taken up a full time teaching role.

Dr Thomson has been President of the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology and the Canadian Society for Clinical Investigation, a member of the Bockus Society, a two-term Governor for Western Canada for the American College of Gastroenterology and a winner of the prestigious University Cup (2001). He is a recipient of the Gold Medal in Medicine, the Chief Royal College Examiner in Gastroenterology, the Director of the Division of Gastroenterology and three-time Teacher of the Year at the University of Alberta, and winner of the Award for Excellence in Mentoring Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows (2003).

Dr Thomson joined the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Alberta in 1975, where he began his career as a clinician, teacher and investigator. He cherishes the privilege of having helped train more than 50 GI training fellows and graduate students. Dr. Thomson’s basic research interests are the mechanisms of intestinal adaptation, the absorption of nutrients, and the modification of this adaptive response in health and disease models. His clinical research interests involve the study of human gastric secretion and the coordination and conduct of clinical trials for patients with peptic disorders, as well as inflammatory and irritable bowel disorders.

Dr Thomson helped found the Gastroenterology Training Fellows annual course, the Canadian Digestive Disease Foundation, the Canadian Helicobacter Study Group, the Canadian Journal of Gastroenterology, and First Principles of Gastroenterology, a textbook made available free to all medical students and physicians in Canada. He prizes his association with role models and mentors such as Ivan Beck, John Dietschy, the late Sydney Truelove and the late Leslie Valberg, and his academic association with Tom Clandinin, Richard Hunt and Gary Wild. He acknowledges with thanks the funding support of MRC, CDA, JDA, CCFC, PMAC, and various pharmaceutical companies. His hobbies include traveling, movies, fine music, telling puns and enjoying a café latte with friends.

Dr Thomson has authored over 600 scientific papers and has edited seven books. Frequently cited in the dedication to these books are his wife, Jeannette Mineault, and his children James, Matthew, Jessica and Benjamin.

For additional information, please visit the University of Alberta Gastroenterology web site at

Other Faculty Members

Abraham, Bincy P.

Adachi, Jonathan D.

Afif, Waqqas

Ananthakrishnan, Ashwin

Anglin, Rebecca

Armuzzi, Alessandro

Van Assche, Gert

Barbara, Giovanni

Baumgart, Daniel C

Beck, Paul L.

Ben-Horin, Shomron

Benchimol, Eric

Bernard, Edmond-Jean

Bernstein, Charles N.

Bessissow, Talat

Bitton, Alain

Bradette, Marc

Bressler, Brian

Carbonnel, Franck

Cohen, Russell D.

Colombel, Jean-Frédéric

Croitoru, Kenneth

Crowther, Mark

Dieleman, Leo A.

Dubinsky, Marla C.

Feagan, Brian G.

Fedorak, Richard N.

Forbes, Alastair

Fowler, Sharyle

Gasche, Christoph

Ghosh, Subrata

Graff, Lesley

Greenberg, David E.

Gregor, James C.

Griffiths, Anne M.

Gruchy, Steven E.

Guimarães, Luís S.

Haider, Shariq

Halder, Smita LS

Hanauer, Stephen B.

Hart, Ailsa

Hazlewood, Glen S.

Hirschfield, Gideon

Huang, Vivian

Hunt, Richard H.

Iacucci, Marietta

Jairath, Vipul

Jeejeebhoy, Khursheed N.

Jones, Jennifer

Kennedy, Erin

Khanna, Reena

Kroeker, Karen I.

Kumar, Deepali

Lakatos, Peter Laszlo

Leung, Yvette PY.

Lima, Hermênio

Loftus, Edward V. Jr.

Long, Millie D.

Loomes, Dustin

Ma, Christopher

Mahadevan, Uma

Markowitz, James

Marshall, John K.

McCurdy, Jeffrey

Melmed, Gil Y.

Munkholm, Pia

Murthy, Sanjay

Narula, Neeraj

Ng, Siew

Nguyen, Geoffrey C.

Panaccione, Remo

Paré, Pierre

Peerani, Farhad

Plamondon, Sophie

Regueiro, Miguel

Render, Craig

Riddell, Robert

Robert, Magali

Rosenfeld, Greg

Rotstein, Coleman

Sandborn, William J.

Seidman, Ernest G

Seow, Cynthia

Shah, Hemant

Shanahan, Fergus

Sheasgreen, Christopher

Silverberg, Mark S

Singh, Siddharth

Stapleton, Melanie

Steinhart, A. Hillary

Stretton, Jennifer

Sutherland, Lloyd R.

Switzer, Connie M.

Targownik, Laura

Thomson, Alan BR

Travis, Simon PL.

Urton, Todd E.

Vande Casteele, Niels

Vermeire, Séverine

Walsh, Scott

Williams, Chadwick

Wine, Eytan