Richard N. Fedorak, MD FRCPC FRCP (London) FRCP (Edinburgh) FRCS

In Memoriam
Founder and Chair of Mentoring in IBD
Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Professor of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB

We are profoundly bereaved to acknowledge the passing of Dr Richard Fedorak, the great Mentor of Mentoring in IBD, and Dean of the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry at the University of Alberta. On behalf of the Mentoring in IBD Co-Chairs and Scientific Steering Committee, and staff of Catrile & Associates Ltd., we extend our deepest condolences to Richard’s family.

Much has been written in tribute to Richard Fedorak’s remarkable career and formidable accomplishments in medicine and clinical research—from his early days as an academically gifted young student in Edmonton, through his many leadership positions at the University of Alberta, and beyond.

We invite you to visit to travel the arc of his life and times.

Here we write in honour of one particular gift among Richard’s many legacies. In 2000, Richard conceived an idea to bring an annual, national, continuing health education program to Canadian gastroenterologists who specialize in the management of inflammatory bowel disease and he called it, Mentoring in IBD.

During the 18 years since the first symposium, Mentoring in IBD has evolved into an innovative curriculum that includes regional chapters in Western and Atlantic Canada, Mentorat sur les MII in Quebec, IBD Dialogue – both Classic and Special Editions, E-Mentoring in IBD, and Each component is founded on the consistent, practical and clinically relevant objectives of Richard’s vision:

  • Increase awareness of new developments and best practices in IBD management
  • Promote collaboration among Canadian gastroenterologists
  • Optimize treatment of inflammatory bowel disease.

The success of Mentoring in IBD can be measured. Since 2009, the number of delegates who attend the annual national meeting in Toronto has increased by 284%, and attendance at the regional meetings has collectively risen 155%. This year, 391 gastroenterologists and allied healthcare professionals across Canada attended a Mentoring in IBD symposium. Since 2009, subscribers to IBD Dialogue and E-Mentoring in IBD grew by 370% and these Mentoring in IBD publications reach 1,560 healthcare professionals across North America and around the world today.

Richard’s conception of Mentoring in IBD reached “beyond the evidence” to bring home the latest and the greatest scientific knowledge in the evolving field of inflammatory bowel disease to Canadian specialists—always driven by the goal to translate research into practice and ultimately improve outcomes for people who live with these chronic diseases. Richard Fedorak meant so much to so many people—a caring and charismatic human being, a challenging and collaborative colleague, an inspiring and supportive mentor. It is impossible to express how much he will be missed.

Other Faculty Members

Abraham, Bincy P.

Adachi, Jonathan D.

Afif, Waqqas

Anglin, Rebecca

Armuzzi, Alessandro

Van Assche, Gert

Barbara, Giovanni

Baumgart, Daniel C

Beck, Paul L.

Ben-Horin, Shomron

Bernard, Edmond-Jean

Bernstein, Charles N.

Bitton, Alain

Bradette, Marc

Bressler, Brian

Carbonnel, Franck

Cohen, Russell D.

Colombel, Jean-Frédéric

Croitoru, Kenneth

Dieleman, Leo A.

Dubinsky, Marla C.

Feagan, Brian G.

Fedorak, Richard N.

Forbes, Alastair

Fowler, Sharyle

Gasche, Christoph

Ghosh, Subrata

Greenberg, David E.

Gregor, James C.

Griffiths, Anne M.

Gruchy, Steven E.

Guimarães, Luís S.

Haider, Shariq

Halder, Smita LS

Hanauer, Stephen B.

Hart, Ailsa

Hazlewood, Glen S.

Hirschfield, Gideon

Huang, Vivian

Hunt, Richard H.

Iacucci, Marietta

Jairath, Vipul

Jeejeebhoy, Khursheed N.

Jones, Jennifer

Kennedy, Erin

Khanna, Reena

Kroeker, Karen I.

Kumar, Deepali

Lakatos, Peter Laszlo

Leung, Yvette PY.

Lima, Hermênio

Loftus, Edward V. Jr.

Long, Millie D.

Loomes, Dustin

Ma, Christopher

Mahadevan, Uma

Markowitz, James

Marshall, John K.

Melmed, Gil Y.

Munkholm, Pia

Narula, Neeraj

Ng, Siew

Nguyen, Geoffrey C.

Panaccione, Remo

Paré, Pierre

Plamondon, Sophie

Regueiro, Miguel

Render, Craig

Riddell, Robert

Robert, Magali

Rosenfeld, Greg

Rotstein, Coleman

Sandborn, William J.

Seidman, Ernest G

Seow, Cynthia

Shanahan, Fergus

Silverberg, Mark S

Stapleton, Melanie

Steinhart, A. Hillary

Stretton, Jennifer

Sutherland, Lloyd R.

Switzer, Connie M.

Targownik, Laura

Thomson, Alan BR

Travis, Simon PL.

Urton, Todd E.

Vande Casteele, Niels

Vermeire, Séverine

Walsh, Scott

Williams, Chadwick

Wine, Eytan