James Markowitz, MD

Attending Pediatrician
Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology
Cohen Children's Medical Center of New York
New Hyde Park, NY

James Markowitz, MD, received his MD from Cornell University Medical College, completing his internship and residency in pediatrics at New York Hospital, both in New York City. In addition, he completed a clinical research fellowship in pediatric gastroenterology at North Shore University Hospital, the Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology, in conjunction with Cornell University Medical College.

Dr. Markowitz has held various positions for several national professional societies. He has served on the Executive Council of the North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition, as well as on NASPGHAN’s Patient Care, Professional Education, Internet and Inflammatory Bowel Disease committees. He has also served on the Educational Affairs and Pediatric Gastroenterology committees of the American College of Gastroenterology, on ad hoc subcommittees for the Pediatric Committee of the CCFA, and on the NIH Data Safety Monitoring Board for the “”PEDS-C”” Hepatitis C multicenter clinical trial. Regionally, he is Vice Chairman of an Institutional Review Board of the North Shore – LIJ Health System. Additionally, he serves on the Medical Advisory Boards for Reach Out for Youth with IBD and the Hermansky-Pudlak Syndrome Network. Dr. Markowitz has served on the editorial board for Inflammatory Bowel Diseases and is a reviewer for several journals, including Journal of Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition, Gastroenterology, The American Journal of Gastroenterology, Journal of Pediatrics, and Alimentary Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

Dr. Markowitz has published works regarding pediatric gastroenterology and IBD in numerous journals and books. His primary research interests include the clinical characterization of pediatric IBD and the immunomodulatory and biologic treatment of children and adolescents with Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. His work is also focused on encouraging multicenter collaborative research in the field of pediatric gastroenterology and, in particular, in studies of children and adolescents with IBD. He currently co-directs the Pediatric Collaborative IBD Research Group, a 26 center, North American research project, and serves on the Steering Committee of PRO-KIIDS, a multicenter Crohn’s and Colitis of America sponsored research project designed to identify immunogenetic and microbial markers of rapid disease progression in children with Crohn’s disease.

Other Faculty Members

Abraham, Bincy P.

Adachi, Jonathan D.

Afif, Waqqas

Ananthakrishnan, Ashwin

Anglin, Rebecca

Armuzzi, Alessandro

Van Assche, Gert

Barbara, Giovanni

Baumgart, Daniel C

Beck, Paul L.

Ben-Horin, Shomron

Benchimol, Eric

Bernard, Edmond-Jean

Bernstein, Charles N.

Bessissow, Talat

Bitton, Alain

Bradette, Marc

Bressler, Brian

Carbonnel, Franck

Cohen, Russell D.

Colombel, Jean-Frédéric

Croitoru, Kenneth

Crowther, Mark

Dieleman, Leo A.

Dubinsky, Marla C.

Feagan, Brian G.

Fedorak, Richard N.

Forbes, Alastair

Fowler, Sharyle

Gasche, Christoph

Ghosh, Subrata

Graff, Lesley

Greenberg, David E.

Gregor, James C.

Griffiths, Anne M.

Gruchy, Steven E.

Guimarães, Luís S.

Haider, Shariq

Halder, Smita LS

Hanauer, Stephen B.

Hart, Ailsa

Hazlewood, Glen S.

Hirschfield, Gideon

Huang, Vivian

Hunt, Richard H.

Iacucci, Marietta

Jairath, Vipul

Jeejeebhoy, Khursheed N.

Jones, Jennifer

Kennedy, Erin

Khanna, Reena

Kroeker, Karen I.

Kumar, Deepali

Lakatos, Peter Laszlo

Leung, Yvette PY.

Lima, Hermênio

Loftus, Edward V. Jr.

Long, Millie D.

Loomes, Dustin

Ma, Christopher

Mahadevan, Uma

Markowitz, James

Marshall, John K.

McCurdy, Jeffrey

Melmed, Gil Y.

Munkholm, Pia

Murthy, Sanjay

Narula, Neeraj

Ng, Siew

Nguyen, Geoffrey C.

Panaccione, Remo

Paré, Pierre

Peerani, Farhad

Plamondon, Sophie

Regueiro, Miguel

Render, Craig

Riddell, Robert

Robert, Magali

Rosenfeld, Greg

Rotstein, Coleman

Sandborn, William J.

Seidman, Ernest G

Seow, Cynthia

Shah, Hemant

Shanahan, Fergus

Sheasgreen, Christopher

Silverberg, Mark S

Singh, Siddharth

Stapleton, Melanie

Steinhart, A. Hillary

Stretton, Jennifer

Sutherland, Lloyd R.

Switzer, Connie M.

Targownik, Laura

Thomson, Alan BR

Travis, Simon PL.

Urton, Todd E.

Vande Casteele, Niels

Vermeire, Séverine

Walsh, Scott

Williams, Chadwick

Wine, Eytan