Ailsa Hart, BA (Hons), BMBCh, FRCP, PhD

Director, IBD Research and Sub-Dean
Department of Surgery and Cancer
St Mark's Hospital and Academic Institute, Imperial College
London, UK

Professor Ailsa Hart is Director of St Mark’s Hospital Inflammatory Bowel Disease Research and Consultant Gastroenterologist. She is Sub-Dean of St Mark’s Hospital Academic Institute. In 2016, she achieved academic promotion with Imperial College and is now Professor of Practice.

Professor Ailsa Hart studied medicine at Oxford University and was awarded a First Class Honours Degree in 1992, together with the George Pickering Prize for Medicine and Surgery proxime accessit in 1995 and additional prizes for outstanding achievements. She achieved Membership of the Royal College of Physicians in 1998 and subsequently Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians. She trained in Gastroenterology and General Internal Medicine in London and also received training at the Academic Medical Centre, Amsterdam. She achieved her PhD with Imperial College in 2005, funded by a Wellcome Trust Fellowship. She was appointed to the consultant staff of St Mark’s Hospital in 2008 and became a Clinical Senior Lecturer at Imperial College London, having been awarded a highly competitive Clinical Senior Lectureship by the Higher Education Funding Council for England. She subsequently achieved the title Professor of Practice with Imperial College in 2016.

Her clinical work covers the spectrum of gastrointestinal diseases, with a particular interest in inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD), Crohn’s disease, and ulcerative colitis. She interdigitates a busy clinical practice with research, both clinical trials in IBD and translational research. Her research interests focus on intestinal immunology and bacteriology, aiming to further our understanding of the pathogenesis of inflammatory intestinal disorders via clinical trials and translational research. She has links with laboratories within Imperial College, particularly metabolic profiling, bacteriology and mucosal immunology. She has piloted the innovative approach of faecal transplantation as a treatment for refractory pouchitis, funded by the Eli and Edyth Broad Foundation and has an ongoing research interest in the gut microbiome. Other particular research interests include pathogenesis of IBD, role of vitamin D, perianal Crohn’s disease, pouchitis and surveillance of IBD patients for dysplasia or colorectal cancer. She has supervised/ co-supervised over 20 higher degree students and lectures widely nationally and internationally.

She is currently Chair of the British Society of Gastroenterology Gut Microbiota for Health Group. She is currently on the Governing Board of the European Crohn’s and Colitis Organisation as Treasurer; has been a member of the Clinical Committee of the European Crohn’s and Colitis Organisation; is involved with writing the ulcerative colitis European Crohn’s and Colitis Organisation guidelines; is on the IBD Clinical Research Group Committee for the British Society of Gastroenterology; UK Patient and Public Involvement Lead for Gastroenterology; on the Research Committee for the Crohn’s and Colitis UK charity; collaborates widely across the UK particularly within the UK IBD Genetics Consortium; and is a member of the International Organisation for IBD (IOIBD), which is a group of approximately 50 top clinicians globally involved in IBD – she is only one of three members from the UK and the only UK woman involved.

She is Associate Editor of the popular gastroenterology journal Alimentary Pharmacology and Therapeutics, has published two books, with “Inflammatory Bowel Disease – an Evidence-based Practical Guide” selling over 8000 copies, and more than 130 papers and book chapters.



Secretary (NHS) 02088695808

Secretary (private)

Other Faculty Members

Abraham, Bincy P.

Adachi, Jonathan D.

Afif, Waqqas

Ananthakrishnan, Ashwin

Anglin, Rebecca

Armuzzi, Alessandro

Van Assche, Gert

Barbara, Giovanni

Baumgart, Daniel C

Beck, Paul L.

Ben-Horin, Shomron

Benchimol, Eric

Bernard, Edmond-Jean

Bernstein, Charles N.

Bessissow, Talat

Bitton, Alain

Bradette, Marc

Bressler, Brian

Carbonnel, Franck

Cohen, Russell D.

Colombel, Jean-Frédéric

Croitoru, Kenneth

Crowther, Mark

Dieleman, Leo A.

Dubinsky, Marla C.

Feagan, Brian G.

Fedorak, Richard N.

Forbes, Alastair

Fowler, Sharyle

Gasche, Christoph

Ghosh, Subrata

Graff, Lesley

Greenberg, David E.

Gregor, James C.

Griffiths, Anne M.

Gruchy, Steven E.

Guimarães, Luís S.

Haider, Shariq

Halder, Smita LS

Hanauer, Stephen B.

Hart, Ailsa

Hazlewood, Glen S.

Hirschfield, Gideon

Huang, Vivian

Hunt, Richard H.

Iacucci, Marietta

Jairath, Vipul

Jeejeebhoy, Khursheed N.

Jones, Jennifer

Kennedy, Erin

Khanna, Reena

Kroeker, Karen I.

Kumar, Deepali

Lakatos, Peter Laszlo

Leung, Yvette PY.

Lima, Hermênio

Loftus, Edward V. Jr.

Long, Millie D.

Loomes, Dustin

Ma, Christopher

Mahadevan, Uma

Markowitz, James

Marshall, John K.

McCurdy, Jeffrey

Melmed, Gil Y.

Munkholm, Pia

Murthy, Sanjay

Narula, Neeraj

Ng, Siew

Nguyen, Geoffrey C.

Panaccione, Remo

Paré, Pierre

Peerani, Farhad

Plamondon, Sophie

Regueiro, Miguel

Render, Craig

Riddell, Robert

Robert, Magali

Rosenfeld, Greg

Rotstein, Coleman

Sandborn, William J.

Seidman, Ernest G

Seow, Cynthia

Shah, Hemant

Shanahan, Fergus

Sheasgreen, Christopher

Silverberg, Mark S

Singh, Siddharth

Stapleton, Melanie

Steinhart, A. Hillary

Stretton, Jennifer

Sutherland, Lloyd R.

Switzer, Connie M.

Targownik, Laura

Thomson, Alan BR

Travis, Simon PL.

Urton, Todd E.

Vande Casteele, Niels

Vermeire, Séverine

Walsh, Scott

Williams, Chadwick

Wine, Eytan