Geoffrey C. Nguyen, MD PhD FRCPC

Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto
Clinician Scientist
Mount Sinai Hospital Inflammatory Bowel Disease Centre
Toronto, Ontario

Dr. Nguyen is Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto and the Institute for Health Policy Management and Evaluation. He is also an senior adjunct scientist at the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences in Toronto. After graduating from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, he completed residency in Internal Medicine at the Johns Hopkins Hospital. He then pursued a combined clinical and research fellowship in gastroenterology and IBD at Johns Hopkins, concurrently completing a PhD degree in Clinical Investigation at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Dr. Nguyen is currently appointed as a Clinician Scientist at the Mount Sinai Hospital. He is the recipient of an AGA Research Scholar Award, and two consecutive New Investigator Awards from CIHR and the CIHR Embedded Clinician Researcher Award. The main focus of his research is the impact of IBD specialty care on health outcomes. Dr. Nguyen’s research focuses on using administrative health data to monitor patterns of IBD-related healthcare utilization, its determinants, effect on health quality of life and morbidity, and economic impact. He is the national lead for the Promoting Access and Care through Centres of Excellence (PACE) a national network dedicated to improving access and quality of care for patients with IBD. As part of the PACE program, he and his research team have pioneered the use of telemedicine to improve access to IBD care to underserviced regions of Ontario. He has spearheaded the Choosing Wisely campaign in IBD and was the lead author on several North American clinical practice guidelines in IBD.  He currently serves as Vice-President for Quality Affairs for the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology.

Other Faculty Members

Abraham, Bincy P.

Adachi, Jonathan D.

Afif, Waqqas

Anglin, Rebecca

Armuzzi, Alessandro

Van Assche, Gert

Barbara, Giovanni

Baumgart, Daniel C

Beck, Paul L.

Ben-Horin, Shomron

Benchimol, Eric

Bernard, Edmond-Jean

Bernstein, Charles N.

Bessissow, Talat

Bitton, Alain

Bradette, Marc

Bressler, Brian

Carbonnel, Franck

Cohen, Russell D.

Colombel, Jean-Frédéric

Croitoru, Kenneth

Dieleman, Leo A.

Dubinsky, Marla C.

Feagan, Brian G.

Fedorak, Richard N.

Forbes, Alastair

Fowler, Sharyle

Gasche, Christoph

Ghosh, Subrata

Greenberg, David E.

Gregor, James C.

Griffiths, Anne M.

Gruchy, Steven E.

Guimarães, Luís S.

Haider, Shariq

Halder, Smita LS

Hanauer, Stephen B.

Hart, Ailsa

Hazlewood, Glen S.

Hirschfield, Gideon

Huang, Vivian

Hunt, Richard H.

Iacucci, Marietta

Jairath, Vipul

Jeejeebhoy, Khursheed N.

Jones, Jennifer

Kennedy, Erin

Khanna, Reena

Kroeker, Karen I.

Kumar, Deepali

Lakatos, Peter Laszlo

Leung, Yvette PY.

Lima, Hermênio

Loftus, Edward V. Jr.

Long, Millie D.

Loomes, Dustin

Ma, Christopher

Mahadevan, Uma

Markowitz, James

Marshall, John K.

McCurdy, Jeffrey

Melmed, Gil Y.

Munkholm, Pia

Murthy, Sanjay

Narula, Neeraj

Ng, Siew

Nguyen, Geoffrey C.

Panaccione, Remo

Paré, Pierre

Peerani, Farhad

Plamondon, Sophie

Regueiro, Miguel

Render, Craig

Riddell, Robert

Robert, Magali

Rosenfeld, Greg

Rotstein, Coleman

Sandborn, William J.

Seidman, Ernest G

Seow, Cynthia

Shanahan, Fergus

Sheasgreen, Christopher

Silverberg, Mark S

Stapleton, Melanie

Steinhart, A. Hillary

Stretton, Jennifer

Sutherland, Lloyd R.

Switzer, Connie M.

Targownik, Laura

Thomson, Alan BR

Travis, Simon PL.

Urton, Todd E.

Vande Casteele, Niels

Vermeire, Séverine

Walsh, Scott

Williams, Chadwick

Wine, Eytan