Christoph Gasche, MD

Associate Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine
Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology
University of Vienna
Vienna, Austria

I was raised and went to school in Vienna, Austria. After a post-doc year in Experimental Hematology (1989-90), I trained in Internal Medicine (six years) and in Gastroenterology and Hepatology (another three years – according to the Austrian standards) at the University of Vienna. Besides medical training I did (mostly clinical) research in inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD) and mucosal immunology. We studied several clinical aspects of IBD such as Crohn’s phenotypes (Vienna Classification), bowel sonography, or anemia treatment. After my appointment as Associate Professor, I spent an extended sabbatical (1999-2001) at the University of California, San Diego studying various molecular aspects of inflammation-driven colorectal cancer (CRC) and genetic instability.

The current focus of the lab could be best described as translational between basic research and clinical application, primarily related to chronic intestinal inflammation and CRC. With relation to IBD the lab has a longstanding interest in iron therapy for anemia and lately also for thrombocytosis. Besides, we just finished trials on (ingested) environmental factors in Crohn’s disease, and gene-environment interactions with respect to the interleukin-10 pathway and NOD2. Another major source of funding for the lab is the pathogenesis of IBD-related colorectal cancer with respect to genetic instability (FWF) and molecular chemoprevention (CDG).

Besides my academic work, I consult for Minos Medical Inc, Irvine, CA (www.minosmedical.com). This medical device start-up company develops several devices (such as for colonoscopic appendectomy) in the Natural Orifice Translumenal Endoscopic Surgery (NOTES) field.

I don’t have much time for hobbies any more. When I used to live on the Pacific coast in Southern California I used to surf and play tennis a lot. When I am with my family (wife, two grown-up girls, a teenage boy, and our lab(rador) retriever) and friends I love to sail, ski, bike, hike or listen to opera music.