Leo A. Dieleman, MD PhD

Professor of Medicine
Division of Gastroenterology
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB

Dr. Dieleman is Professor of Medicine, clinician-scientist and the Director of IBD Clinical Research at the Division of Gastroenterology at the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Canada.

Dr. Dieleman is originally from the Netherlands, received his MD degree from Catholic University of Nijmegen in 1983, finished his Internal Medicine training at Leiden in 1989, and his clinical GI training at the Free University of Amsterdam in 1996. Between his clinical training he received a Fogarty Fellowship from NIH that formed the basis of his PhD studies on the role of cytokines in experimental and human IBD with Dr. Charles Elson at UAB Birmingham, Alabama and he subsequently received his PhD degree in 1995 at the Free University of Amsterdam during his clinical GI Fellowships. Dr Dieleman then emigrated to join the GI Division as Assistant Professor in Chapel Hill North Carolina. Under the mentorship of Dr. Balfour Sartor he received a KO8 and RO3 Award from NIH. Since 2003 Dr Dieleman is at the University of Alberta.

Dr. Dieleman is an internationally recognized scientist on the role of intestinal bacteria, probiotics, prebiotics and diets for the pathogenesis and treatment of IBD. He has been continuously funded by NIH, CIHR, Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of Canada and Alberta Innovates since 1998 and has published over 100 original articles and book chapters in several high ranked journals.

Other Faculty Members

Abraham, Bincy P.

Adachi, Jonathan D.

Afif, Waqqas

Ananthakrishnan, Ashwin

Anglin, Rebecca

Armuzzi, Alessandro

Van Assche, Gert

Barbara, Giovanni

Baumgart, Daniel C

Beck, Paul L.

Ben-Horin, Shomron

Benchimol, Eric

Bernard, Edmond-Jean

Bernstein, Charles N.

Bessissow, Talat

Bitton, Alain

Bradette, Marc

Bressler, Brian

Carbonnel, Franck

Cohen, Russell D.

Colombel, Jean-Frédéric

Croitoru, Kenneth

Crowther, Mark

Dieleman, Leo A.

Dubinsky, Marla C.

Feagan, Brian G.

Fedorak, Richard N.

Forbes, Alastair

Fowler, Sharyle

Gasche, Christoph

Ghosh, Subrata

Graff, Lesley

Greenberg, David E.

Gregor, James C.

Griffiths, Anne M.

Gruchy, Steven E.

Guimarães, Luís S.

Haider, Shariq

Halder, Smita LS

Hanauer, Stephen B.

Hart, Ailsa

Hazlewood, Glen S.

Hirschfield, Gideon

Huang, Vivian

Hunt, Richard H.

Iacucci, Marietta

Jairath, Vipul

Jeejeebhoy, Khursheed N.

Jones, Jennifer

Kennedy, Erin

Khanna, Reena

Kroeker, Karen I.

Kumar, Deepali

Lakatos, Peter Laszlo

Leung, Yvette PY.

Lima, Hermênio

Loftus, Edward V. Jr.

Long, Millie D.

Loomes, Dustin

Ma, Christopher

Mahadevan, Uma

Markowitz, James

Marshall, John K.

McCurdy, Jeffrey

Melmed, Gil Y.

Munkholm, Pia

Murthy, Sanjay

Narula, Neeraj

Ng, Siew

Nguyen, Geoffrey C.

Panaccione, Remo

Paré, Pierre

Peerani, Farhad

Plamondon, Sophie

Regueiro, Miguel

Render, Craig

Riddell, Robert

Robert, Magali

Rosenfeld, Greg

Rotstein, Coleman

Sandborn, William J.

Seidman, Ernest G

Seow, Cynthia

Shah, Hemant

Shanahan, Fergus

Sheasgreen, Christopher

Silverberg, Mark S

Singh, Siddharth

Stapleton, Melanie

Steinhart, A. Hillary

Stretton, Jennifer

Sutherland, Lloyd R.

Switzer, Connie M.

Targownik, Laura

Thomson, Alan BR

Travis, Simon PL.

Urton, Todd E.

Vande Casteele, Niels

Vermeire, Séverine

Walsh, Scott

Williams, Chadwick

Wine, Eytan